I Am Nobody.

images (4)As I live and breath, I am sitting in my tractor/trailer rig on the outskirts of Davenport, Iowa just across the river from Moline, Illinois. Now what is so special about Moline, Illinois? you might ask. For most people in the world: absolutely nothing; however, it is special to me. I was born in that famous city of  Hiawassee, Georgia. In 1959, when I was only 6 weeks old, my dad moved us to Moline, Illinois; reason being, so he could work at a good job. I lived here until I was 10 years old. My dad and mom had only been married for a short time and I was their newborn baby. Of course I don’t remember the move, but I do remember from a very early age living in Moline. My parents rented a very small house from my uncle at the first. In time, as dad earned more money, they bought a home here in the city. I learned to talk, ride a bicycle, to read and write, to do math and many other things here. It got very cold in the winter and snowed deep snows. I remember walking to school in snow that was maybe a foot deep. The city did not shut down as a result of this kind of weather, because if it had, it would be shut down much of the time, but let me back up. When I was about one year old, my parents visited the Christian church where my uncle, aunt and their family were attending. My parents accepted Christ into their hearts and lives as their Savior and Lord right from the start. Some of my most vivid memories of early childhood have to do with that church. I heard powerful preaching there, that was anointed of the Holy Spirit. That church made an indelible impression on my life that lasts to this very day. I became a God-fearing person when I lived here in Moline and the Holy Spirit started moving on my spirit even way back then as a child. There is no place more special to me than my home in Hiawassee, Georgia and I am proud to be from Dixie, but this place played an important role in who I am. My coming to know Christ as Savior all began here. I remember as a child in Moline being afraid to go to sleep at night, because of what might happen to me if I died. To make a long story short, I gave my heart and life to Yahshua Jesus and it has never been the same. It is incomprehensible to me, that anyone would turn down a relationship with Christ. It is unthinkable to me, that anyone would refuse to give their life to Christ, when there is nothing of any value to lose and everything of value to gain. There has never been anyone, other than Christ, who lived a sinless life and gave up that life freely for us, so that we could live eternally. I am a nobody, but Christ and Christ alone has made me into a somebody. I am not worthy in and of myself to even speak His lovely name; and yet, He desired to have me for a son. My heart is filled with gratitude, that He loved this nobody with such incredible love. Christ is not willing that any should perish, but that all would come to repentance. This reminds me of the words to a song I heard by “Audio Adrenline”.  Here are the words: I don’t know where you lay your head or call your home. I don’t know where you eat your meals or where you talk on the phone. I don’t know if you got a cook a butler or a maid. I don’t know if you got a yard with a hammock in the shade. I don’t know if you got some shelter, say a place to hide. I don’t know if you live with friends in whom you can confide. I don’t know if you got a family, say a mom or a dad. I don’t know if you feel love at all, but I bet you wish you had. Come and go with me, to my Father’s house. Come and go with me, to my Father’s house. Its a big big house, with lots and lots of room; a big big table, and lots and lots of food; with a big big yard, where we can play football; a big big house. Its my Father’s house. All I know is a big ole house with rooms for everyone. All I know is lots of land where we can play and run. All I know is you need love and I’ve got a family. All I know is your all alone. So why not come with me? Come and go with me to my Father’s house. Come and go with me to my Father’s house. Its a big big house, with lots and lots of room; a big big table, and lots and lots of food; a big big yard, where we can play football; its a big big house. Its my Father’s house. Audio Adrenline may not use perfect grammar, but the message is right on. I share this same offer with you. You may feel like you would be giving up a lot to have a relationship with Christ; but I submit to you, that you would not be giving up anything of real value and would be gaining life eternal. Now that is a perfect bargain. As I sit at this place and reminisce, I would not trade anything for my parents who showed me the way to Christ and I would not trade anything for my relationship with Christ. My life has had its ups and downs, but I have a personal relationship with the giver and sustainer of life and that is all that really matters. I desire to share this eternal life with you. Come and go with me to my Father’s house!

 

1 Comment

Filed under I Am Nobody

One response to “I Am Nobody.

Leave a Reply

